Thank you all so much for all the work you did to arrange our stay in PD. It all went smoothly, the apartment was excellent, we really enjoyed it. In fact I could easily have a week every winter in that apartment! We enjoyed PD, caught up with some friends, ate nicely, explored the shops and enjoyed the market very much. I thought the market better than when we were there 2 years ago.
Regards to you all and I will pass on your name to friends when they are heading north.
The Villa San Michele accommodation in Port Douglas was fantastic, a great recommendation. Having a young child we were able to walk everywhere 5 mins to the marina and beach, lighthouse, Bally-hooly train and all the eateries. We also felt part of the action at night time as we had a balcony overlooking the main street. We would stay there again. There is plenty to do and see around Pt Douglas we went to the barrier reef (Wavedancer) and also self drove to Mossman Gorge and as far north as Cape Tribulation through the Daintree. Thank you to the agents at FNQ for completing all our bookings prior to arrival. The speed of your responses and offer of assistance was greatly appreciated. Also keeping in contact prior to and during our stay was a nice touch. We will definitely be in contact again next time we travel this way!
Thanks, Recent visitors to the area!
Thank you for my warm welcome home message I have received this morning. I had a great time in Port Douglas, the accommodation was lovely & very central to all the shops, cafés, restaurants, the Marina & of course the 4 mile beach, which I walked nearly each morning. We went on the Billy Tea Safari trip to Cape Tribulation / Bloomfield track & had a great time with all the other tourists that we meet, we even saw a Cassowary with her two babies along the side of the road, so John the tour guide stopped so that we could get lots of photo’s from inside the bus of course. The BBQ lunch supplied was very nice as well, I would highly recommend this trip to my family and friends. We also went on Wave dancer to Low Isles for another fantastic day full of fun, I loved the guided commentary on the glass bottom boat trip, they gave us plenty of time to swim, snorkel or just chill out for a few hours. The bus service is excellent in FNQ, our transport & transfers were always on time & the drivers were very pleasant as well. We enjoyed a massage at Mii Day Spa at the Sea Temple which was very good value for money. I guess the only two things that I would complain about is the following. 1. One of the pool’s at Villa San Michele was far too cold to swim in, as it seemed to be for other guests as well, because it was always empty, but the other pool was lovely, maybe they could match the temperature for both pools. 2. I was really looking forward to having lunch at the Sheridan Mirage, which we did, but I was disappointed by the way a Outsider (or visitor) is treated by some staff members there. They really need to make clear to other Managers of hotels that you aren’t allowed to sit in certain parts of the pool area’s unless you pay $45.00 for a day pass apparently. I asked our hotel manager before we left & there was no mention of that, so I don’t think I would bother visiting the Sheridan again. But the Sea Temple was very friendly when we went there for our Massage & let us sit in the pool area while we were having a coffee. Thanks for all your help & I will definitely book through FNQ again.
Julie Thanks for your email.
I would love to make some comments. We had a great time in Port Douglas. The weather was lovely and likewise the water. The accommodation, Villa San Michele, was very comfortable and very central to all the facilities, restaurants and more importantly the beach. We walked everywhere particularly to the "Gelati Bar" every night and most afternoons for a cool and pleasing refreshment. We went snorkelling at Low Island on the Wave Dancer and went on a tour up to Cape Tribulation on Down Under Tours. This also included a boat trip of the Daintree River and visiting the discovery centre. We all enjoyed seeing the crocs and walking amongst the tree tops. It was very special! The host / bus driver Shane was great and very informative. The lunch was great; a BBQ in a remote location, amongst the rainforest; awesome! The trip to Low Island was a highlight and a must for everyone. In saying that the Daintree was also a very special place but the kids did enjoy swimming with the turtles and fish more. I also went white water rafting on the Barron River with Foaming Furry. My kids are too young and my wife is pregnant and therefore they did not come. It was great but too short but only because I had such a great time and I did not want it to end. My wife enjoyed the Sunday Markets. Enough said in that department. Coming from a man, I am sure you understand why! I must admit the Marina was very disappointing. Most shops were closed or for lease. When we visited in the middle of the day there was no one around and we vacated out of there pretty quickly and did visit there again unless boarding the Wave Dancer. The Marina needs more work!! All the restaurants / cafés / pubs we ate at where good but obviously some were better than others. I particularly enjoyed the food at Bucci and Billy's We will definitely be back in the future.
Thank you for your e-mail and sorry I haven't answered it sooner - have been really busy. Firstly I would like to say how disappointed we were not to meet you. My daughter said she knew you were based in Cairns, but for some reason I thought you were in Port Douglas!! As you may remember we stayed at the Villa San Michele. We would like to say how very happy we were with the Service we received from everyone especially Toni Graham the Manager. The first night we were in an upstairs room and when Toni learnt that Graeme had had a knee replacement and was having a slight problem with the stairs she offered us an apartment on the 2nd floor, straight off the street. The family helped us in the morning and we moved into that apartment without any trouble and were extremely satisfied there. I would have no hesitation in recommending the apartments and the staff to anyone. (The one complaint when I got into one of the pools I lost my breath, it was sooooooo cold!!!!!!!!!) We did our Tour Bookings through Toni and had no problems with those - only the weather! Tried to pick a fine day without any wind to go out to the Reef and eventually went to the Low Isles Inner Reef the second to last day and not only was it windy, it also rained and was quite cold - not anyone's fault.
The family had been to the Outer Reef the day before and had slightly better weather and a nice time. We also went up to Cape Tribulation and the Daintree one day which was excellent and another on the Skyrail and Kuranda train, stopping off at the Outback Opal Mine shop for morning tea, which was shocking. We had a talk by a non-Australian whom we couldn't understand, then were told we didn't have time to watch the video and had to hurry with our cup of tea to get on our way. The Skyrail was really great and the train (which Graeme and I had been on in 1983 was disappointing) crowded and we couldn't hear the commentary. One morning we went to The Rainforest Habitat and had Breakfast with the Birds - it was splendid. We also went out to the Mossman Sugarmill for a visit / Tour only to discover as we hadn't pre booked we were unable to go, which was disappointing, but our fault.
The day we were to fly out from Cairns to Brisbane our plane developed a malfunction as we were taxi-ing out on the runway and we returned to Cairns where we had to spend the night. The communication by Virgin Blue was a little lax whereby we really didn't know what was happening until the last minute when we were sent off to the Lake Hotel for the night (9.30pm until 3.30am). However Virgin Blue were short staffed and those on the counters and at the airport did their best under the circumstances. Unfortunately our 15 year old grandson lost a near new navy hooded sweat shirt between the airport, taxi and the hotel which nobody managed to pickup or hand in. We enjoyed our time at Port Douglas but found most things ofcourse channeled to the tourists and it had certainly changed since we were last there in 1983!!!. Prices we felt were quite high as a result of it being a tourist spot. Had some lovely meals out but a lot of the eating places were just too expensive for families. However having said that we had some lovely BBQ's at both the San Michele and the Beachfront Terraces. Had some lovely swims in the sea which were much warmer than the pools. So all in all our holiday in FNQ was successful and much of it due to your contribution with our accommodation.
Thank you once again,
Robin and Graeme